Trust Vs Mistrust Essay Writing

On By In 1

Relating Erikson’s Eight Stages to My Life Essay

2238 Words9 Pages

Many of our temperament traits are evident at birth. However, other characteristics such as trust, guilt and competency are learned based upon our life experiences and the support we receive as we grow and develop. Based upon his research, Erikson became aware of the influence maturation and social demands have on behavior and ultimately on our development. He believed these two forces "push[ed] humans everywhere through…[a set of] eight psychosocial crises" (Sigelman, C. & Rider, E., 2009, pg.332). He organized life into eight stages that extend from birth to death. Erikson's first psychosocial conflict is trust versus mistrust. This stage begins at birth and continues until about one year of age. The central issue that…show more content…

Parents are primarily responsible for satisfying this stage of development in their child. It is imperative parents are attentive to their infant's needs so trust can be developed. Autonomy versus shame and doubt is the next stage in Erikson's psychosocial theory. This stage primarily deals with the issue "Can I act on my own?" and it last from about age one until age three (Sigelman, C. & Rider, E., 2009, pg.332). According to Erikson (2009) in this stage a toddler begins to assert their will and they develop a greater sense of their own identity. Research supports this developmental stage as well, and 18 month olds begin to "recognize themselves in a mirror and lace their speech with me and no" (Sigelman, C. & Rider, E., 2009, pg.332). To develop this stage parents should let their children have some control over small areas of their lives. One way a parent could do this would be give their toddler a choice in what they wear between several outfits, or a choice of activities. Parents could ask their 3 year old "do you want to go to the pool or do you want to go to the park today?" This would allow their toddler to act on their own and develop a sense of autonomy without relinquishing too much control to them. Once a sense of autonomy has been developed, the next stage in the psychosocial theory is initiative versus guilt. This stage is from about age three to age six and

Show More

One of the first things that an infant learns is how to trust. Weather it be trust or mistrust, the infant goes through a process of learning this feeling. In order to understand how the infant learns to trust we must first understand what is important about learning trust and what kind of trust is the infant learning. Learning to trust one's helplessness to a trustworthy caregiver is the primary learning task of infancy. The infant needs to learn to be aware that there is someone there to do things for them. This is the ultimate form of trust. Trust is part of an infants DLT or development learning task. Learning trust is important in order for the infant to move to the next stage of development.

Erikson says that there are two types of trust that the infant could learn, trust or mistrust. If we are not learning trust then we are learning mistrust.

Trust is a form of one's abilities while mistrust is a form of one's anxiety. When the infant is learning trust, in the beginning he learns "basic" trust, which is a foundation of all future interpersonal learning. Trust is built on the base of basic trust. When this foundation has been laid, it acts as generalized attitude towards people. After this the infant goes to the next step which is realistic trust.

In order for the infant to learn trust, the infant needs four specific things from its caretaker. The first thing the infant needs is warmth. Warmth can mean one of two different things. The first being emotional warmth. The infant needs the caregiver to treat him nicely and be warm and kind. The second being body warmth. Since human beings are mammals, we naturally need to close to our caregivers and be...


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *